Bishop Herman College was the first Catholic boys school established in Volta Region

Bishop Herman College (BIHECO)

Bishop Herman College (BIHECO)

Share This Information


Bishop Herman College (BIHECO) celebrates its Platinum Jubilee (70 years) under the theme Excellent Secondary Education Delivery in the Midst of Covid-19: Prospects and Challenges.

The celebration touched on numerous achievements and disclosed the challenges of the school. Also, they seek for assistance in rebuilding the image of the school putting in the needed infrastructure to help and bolster academic works.

Bishop Herman College known popularly as BIHECO was established on February 1952 in the premises of the Roman Catholic Mission in Kpando, specifically, Gabi as a Private mission school.

In history, the school was the first Catholic boys secondary school founded by the Roman Catholic Church in the Volta Region, Ghana. The motto of the school is “Sicut Miles Christi” (“As Soldiers of Christ”).

The school is known also for its disciplinary rules towards academic works and in their administration across board.

The school was founded by Roman Catholic (R.C) Church in the Volta Region by Dutch missionaries. The school was named after the French missionary by name Bishop Augustine Herman.

Bishop Augustine Herman was the French missionary who served from 1923 – 1945 in the Keta Diocese. After 2 years (1954), BIHECO was moved to Aloryi Hills and had the first batch completed (1952 -1955).

The school gained public (government) status in 1955 as Government Assisted College. BIHECO stands as a leading school in the Volta Region, Ghana.

Bishop Herman College boasts as the best performing school in the Volta Region per the statistic rank of West African Examination Council (WAEC). They are also recognized as the winner of the Maiden edition of the National Robotics Competition among other prestigious awards to their credit as achievements.

Some facilities (Houses) in Bishop Herman College (BIHECO)

BIHECO has seven (7) houses providing room and board, named after

1. Catholic Saints and Old Boys. St. Augustine’s House is named after Augustine of Hippo and is the oldest of the houses. “This house sits at the entrance of the school and has two entrances.”

2. St. Cyprain’s House is on the second floor of the same building as St. Benedict’s House.

3. St. Maurice’s House is on the first floor of the same building as Etu-Mantey houses.

4. St. Patrick’s House, named after St. Patrick, is adjacent the college’s hockey pitch.

5. Bishop Lodonu’s House (the latest) was named after an alumnus, Bishop Francis Anane K. Lodonu.”

Names of some old students of Bishop Herman Colloge (BIHECANS)

1. The first African/Ghanaian Bishop of the then Keta-Ho Diocese, Bishop Francis Anani Kofi Lodonu

2. The first University of Ghana, Legon, Faculty of Law Graduate, Retired Supreme Court Judge, Justice Francis Y. Kpegah.

3. The first Ghanaian plastic surgeon, Mr. Fabian Mork.

4. Hon. Clement Kofi Humado, Minister for Youth and Sports.

5. Mr. Anthony Fofie, Chief Executive Officer of Ghana Cocoa Board and many others.



Share This Information

Leave a Reply