All MoE / GES reforms personnel must know

Official logo of GTEC, CTVET, GES, MoE and NaCCA
Official logo of GTEC, CTVET, GES, MoE and NaCCA

All reforms at the Ministry of Education (Moe) / Ghana Education Service (GES) have been compiled for personnel to take note of. Personnel is urged to take note of the few changes made in the MoE/GES for promotion and interview sake.

Be informed that the reform is effective as of January 2023.

  • Ghana Education Service (GES) was established in the year 1974. Before GES was established, it was known as Ghana Teaching Service.
  • In the year 1957, the Ministry of Education (MoE) was established.


Below are the MoE/GES reforms


1. Earlier, there are ten (10) divisions at the Ghana Education Education (GES) Headquarters but it has been reduced to four (4)divisions for about a year or two (2).

ALSO READ: Allowance and quota systems in Colleges of Education is a disaster and calamity – Ayingura Aduko

The new divisions are as follows:

i) Special Education Division.

ii) Schools & Instructions Division.

iii) Administration Finance.

iv) Human Resource Management and Development Division.

2. Ghana Education Service (GES) has two (2) Deputy Directors-General at the GES Headquarters.

Ghana Education Service (GES)
Ghana Education Service (GES)

Their names are:

Mr. Anthony Boateng, Deputy D-G, Management/Managerial Services

Dr. Kwabena Bempah Tandoh, Deputy D-G, Quality & Access.

3. Referencing from the new Divisions, divisions (i) and division (ii) is under the jurisdiction of Deputy D-G, Quality & Access while division (iii) & (iv) are overseen by Deputy D-G, Management Services.

4. The former division known as the Supplies & Logistics Division is NOT a division anymore.
The reform made it A UNIT instead and placed it under Administration & Finance Division.

5. At the Metropolitan/Municipal/District Education Directorate level now, there is a Frontline Deputy Director in charge of Finance & Administration (F & A).

At the top (Headquarters), the Divisional Director is in charge of Administration & Finance (A & F).

6. In the past, the division called Non-Formal Education Division (NFED) which was one of the agencies under the Ministry of Education (MoE) is currently named as Complementary Education Agency (CEA).

7. The reform moved the Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) Division upwards to an agency status under the Ministry of Education (MoE).


Currency the Director-General, Ghana for TVET Service is Mrs. Mawusi Nudekor Away.

8. The new status of Ghana TVET Service is currently the freshest/latest agency under the Ministry of Education (MoE) while its mother agency is GES.

9. Be informed that the Education Regulatory Bodies Act, 2020 (Act 1023) has established five (5) Education Regulatory Bodies.

The bodies are as follows:

a) Ghana Tertiary Education Commission (GTEC). Their Pro, Mohammed Salifu is the Director-General.

NB: National Accreditation Board (NAB) and National Council for Tertiary Education (NCTE) have been replaced with Ghana Tertiary Education Commission (GTEC).

b) Recently, the former Teacher Education Division (TED) is called
National Teaching Council (NTC). The new Executive Secretary is Dr. Christian Addai Poku.

c) National Inspectorate Board (NIB) is now called National Schools Inspectorate Authority (Nastasia). The Inspector-General of NaSIA is Dr. Hagar Hilda Ampadu.

d) Curriculum Research & Development Division (CRDD) is currently known as National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NaCCA) where Mr. John Mensah Annang is the Director-General.

NB: Dr. Christian Addai-Poku of NTC is concurrently part of the Council Members of NaCCA.

e) Commission for Technical and Vocational Education and Training (COTVET) has Dr. Fred Kyei Asamoah as the Director-General.


The newly substantiated Director-General of GES is Dr. Eric Nkansah. He served as Acting Director-General for GES before he was accepted officially in a confirmation letter signed by Mrs. Angela Frimpomaa Nkansah, Ag. Director HRMD on the 4th of January, 2023.

The Director-General of GES is also called the Administrative Head /or Chief Executive Officer of GES and he has two (2) Deputies.

GES Council is the highest decision-making body in Ghana Education Service (GES).

The contemporary Chairman of the GES Council is Mr. Michael Kenneth Noah. He is also called the Highest Presiding Figure of GES.


GES Council is made up of fifteen (15) Members.



Leave a Reply