Council of State members receive “Fat Salary” as Ghana bleeds in debts

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and Members of Council of State
President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and Members of Council of State

Salary for Council of State Members has been disclosed in the midst of hited argument following approval of salary for the spouses of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia.

It’s unclear to many Ghanaians why the President and Vice President’s wives should be classified under Article 71 office holders for payment of salary. This, they believe is unconstitutional and must be rescinded.

First Lady’s Salary – John Mahama disagrees; supports legal actions


But, an investigative journalist and international award winner Manasseh Azure Awuni has stated that, he sees nothing wrong with the approved salary for the first lady Mrs. Rebecca Akufo-Addo and second lady Mrs. Samira Bawumia.

In a statement sighted by, Manasseh Azure Awuni has disclosed a “Fat Salary” being paid Council of State Members every month for doing nothing.

According to Manasseh Azure Awuni, each Member of Council of State is paid whooping amount of GH¢26,266.00 a month, with vehicles. “What do they do?” He asked.

2021 Census: Enumerators threaten to withhold CAPI if GSS fails to pay 30% outstanding allowance

This means that, a total of thirty-one (31) Council of State Members shall receive GH¢26,266.00 each per month for four years during President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s second term in office.

On the average, an amount of GH¢ 814,246 shall be paid to them per month. i.e GH¢26,266.00 × 31 members.

This shows that, in a year, the Government of Ghana will spend a total of GH¢ 9,770,952 per annum as salary on the Council of State Members i.e GH¢ 814,246 × 12 months.

Salary for Rebecca and Samira; ASEPA gives reasons for Court actions, states position of the Law

In the Four years under review, a whooping lump sum of GH¢39,083,808 is expected to be paid to the thirty-one (31) members of the Council of State. I.e GH¢ 9,770,952 × four (4) years.

This excludes setting allowances and other incentive packages.

It’s based on this that, Manasseh Azure Awuni said, he strongly agreed with approval of salary for Presidential spouses because, the Council of State Members do not do any work to merit such a whooping amount of money.


“I’m strongly in favour of paying salaries to the wives of the President and Vice President” – Manasseh Azure Awuni

The Council of State in Ghana is a body of prominent Ghanaians, analogous to the Council of Elders in the traditional political system, which advises the President on national issues.

The Council of State was established by Articles 89 to 92 of the 1992 Constitution of Ghana, that says “There shall be a Council of State to counsel the President in the performance of his functions.”

The Council of State shall include a former Chief Justice of Ghana, a former Chief of the Defence Staff and a former Inspector General of Police who Sha be appointed by the setting President and the President of the National House of Chiefs,  who is an ex-officio member. Each region of Ghana also has an elected representative. The president shall also appoint eleven members to the Council.

Formerly, the Members used to be twenty-five (25). But, due to the creation of six (6) new regions, the Council of State Members have increased to thirty-one (31).


President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s appointees are Nana Otuo Siriboe II, the Juabenhene; Archbishop Justice Ofei Akrofi, Mr Sam Okudzeto, Alhaji Sule Yiremiah and Mr Stanley Adjiri Blankson.

The rest are Prof. Ato Essuman, Alhaji Aminu Amadu, Dr Margaret Amoakohene, Mrs Georgina Kusi, Mrs Alberta Cudjoe and Kuoro Richard Babini Kanton VI.

President Akufo-Addo had, in accordance with Article 89 and subject to consultation with Parliament, also appointed a former Chief Justice, Mrs Georgina Theodora Wood; a former Chief of the Defence Staff of the Ghana Armed Forces, Lt Gen. J.B. Danquah, and a former Inspector-General of Police, Nana Owusu Nsiah, to the council.

The President of the National House of Chiefs, Ogyeahohoo Yaw Gyebi II, is an ex officio member of the council, in furtherance of Article 89(2)(b).

For composition of the Council of State to be completed, a regional representative, across the sixteen (16) regions were elected, in accordance with Article 89(2)(c) of the 1992 constitution.



Leave a Reply