Full list of 17 presidential aspirants who filed to contest December 2020 Polls

Share This Information


The Electoral Commission of Ghana led by Mrs. Jean Mensa has announced that, a total of seventy (17) presidential candidates have successfully filed nomination to contest the upcoming presidential election as of Friday, 9th October, 2020, which marks the end of the filing of nominations ahead of the the December Polls.


On 6th October, 2020, three (3) Presidential candidates have filed nomination at the EC’s headquarters to contest the December 2020 polls. The first candidate to filed nomination form at the office of the Electoral Commission was Mr. Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate and his running mate Mr.Joseph Osei Yeboah.

READ ALSO: December Polls: CPP files for 47 Parliamentary Candidates; Determined to win 5 seats

The second candidate to filed nomination form at the office of the Electoral Commission was President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, the leader and flagbearer of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) together with his running mate Dr Mahamudu Bawumia.

Reverend Christian Kwabena Andrew, Presidential Aspirant of the Ghana Union Movement was third presidential aspirant who has filed his nomination at the headquarters of the Electoral Commission. He was accompanied by his running mate Alhaji Abu Grant Lukeman and other members of the leadership of the party.

READ ALSO: Akufo-Addo’s government full of culture of impunity – John Mahama


On the second day 8th October, 2020, only two presidential candidates filed to contest the upcoming elections at the office the Electoral Commission. The first candidate who filed nomination on day two was Madam Brigitte Dzogbenuku, the Presidential Aspirant of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP). She was accompanied by Papa Kow Ackon, the National Secretary of the PPP, Mr Felix Martey, the National Communication Director and other officials of the party.

The second party that filed the nomination form on day two was the leadership of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) led by Mr Johnson Asiedu Nketia, the General Secretary of the Party on behalf of the flagbearer Mr John Dramani Mahama. Party officials including Former Speaker of Parliament, Mr Edward Doe Adjaho, Mr Elvis Afriyie Ankrah, a former Minister of Sports and Deputy General Secretary of the NDC, Peter Boamah Otukonor, accompanied him.

READ MORE: Open participation of chiefs in partisan politics worrying – Prof. Gyampo


On the third, Seven more Presidential Aspirants filed their nominations at the Electoral Commission headquarters to contest for December 7, Elections. Those who filed are Madam Akua Donkor of Ghana Freedom Party (GFP), Mr Henry Lartey of Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP), Mr Marricke Kofi Gane an Independent Aspirant, Dr Hassan Ayariga of All People’s Congress (APC), Mr Kofi Koranteng an Independent Aspirant, Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings of National Democratic (NDP) and Mr Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of Covention People’s Party (CPP).


On Friday, the last day of filing nominations as declared by the Electoral Commission, a total of five (5) different presidential candidates have successfully filed their nomination forms at the EC’s headquarters. The Presidential aspirants are as follow; Mr. Kwasi Addae Odike together with the running mate Madam Georgina Oduro of the United Progressive Party (UPP), Mr. Kwasi Busumbru and his running mate Mr. Willaim Kwame Adom of PAP, Mr. Nana Aygenim Boateng and Vice Presidential candidate Mr. Nana Agyei Ntow of the United Front Party (UFP), Mr. Percival Kofi Akpaloo and running mate Madam Margaret Obrine Sarfo of the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG) and finally, Mr. David Asibi Anyindenaba Apasera and Diine Ayivor of of the People’s National Convention (PNC).

READ ALSO: Attach seriousness to parliamentary sittings – Speaker tells MPs

According to reports, three of the Presidential Aspirants who filed the nominations are hoping to go as independent candidates when cleared by the Electoral Commission of Ghana, while 14 are aspirants from political parties.

The Chairperson of the Electoral Commission Mrs. Jean Mensa upon receiving the nominations forms from each aspirants explained that the process was one of the most important activities in the lead up to the December 7 Elections and that it is in consonant with regulation 7 of the CI 127 that enjoins a Presidential Candidate to complete and sign 4 copies of the Nomination Forms among other things.

The Electoral Commission also noted that, the technical and Information Technology teams tasked to scrutinize the forms would submit their report to the EC Chair on Monday, 12th October, 2020. The result of those who would qualify for the next stage would be announced to the public next week.

Summary of the nomination – Presidential Elections. 

See some photos from EC’s headquarters at the time of filing nomination forms by presidential aspirants. 

SOURCE: Coverghana.com.gh


Share This Information

Leave a Reply