New Regions in Ghana and capital cities

Ghana coat of arms
Ghana coat of arms

For the purposes of effective governance, decentralization, uniform and equitable distribution of national resources across board, the government of Ghana has created Administrative Regions for the said purpose.

How many Regions WAS Ghana having?

Before 15th February, 2019, the Republic of Ghana has a total of ten (10) Administrative Regions.


The Regions are; Volta, Ashanti, Central, Northern, Western, Bono Ahafo, Eastern, Greater Accra, Upper East, Upper West.

READ ALSO: How to Apply for Ghanaian Passport, Cost of Application and Renewal

How many new Regions were created in Ghana?

The government of the New Patriotic Party under Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s Presidency has created six (6) Administrative Regions. These Regions were created on 15th February, 2019 with Constitutional Instrument (C.I) in a Referendum conducted by the Electoral Commission of Ghana, following series of petition and agitations from Chiefs and citizens of the affected areas.

The six (6) newly created regions are; Oti, North East, Western North, Ahafo, Bono East and Savannah.

READ MORE: List of Ghana Embassies, High Commissions, Consulates and Contacts Abroad

How many Regions are in Ghana NOW?

Currently, there are sixteen (16) regions in the Republic of Ghana (6 new and 10 old). The Regions have their own Administrative Capital city/town.

Ghana is divided into 16 administrative regions, subdivided into a total of 160 districts. The regions and their capital city/town are:

North East Nalerigu
Western North Sefwi Wiawso
Ahafo Goaso
Oti Dambai
Bono East Techiman
Savannah Damongo
Ashanti Kumasi
Brong Ahafo Sunyani
Central Cape Coast
Eastern Koforidua
Greater Accra Accra
Northern Tamale
Upper East Bolgatanga
Upper West Wa
Volta Ho
Western Sekondi-Takoradi




Leave a Reply