Owuraku Ampofo explains why Mohammed Salisu’s goal was accepted despite Ayew’s handball

Owuraku Ampofo explains why Mohammed Salisu's goal was accepted despite Ayew's handball
Owuraku Ampofo explains why Mohammed Salisu's goal was accepted despite Ayew's handball

The popular Ghanaian Sports Journalist, Owuraku Ampofo clarifies the rising issue after Ghana Vs South Korea’s Group match.

In a post sighted on the social media handle of Owuraku Ampofo, he said IFAB clarified handball law at AGM last year, 2021.

According to the Sports Journalist, just by way of explanation “The rules were made clear that accidental handballs that lead to a teammate scoring a goal will be allowed.”

Advertisement

During Ghana vrs South Korea’s Group match on November 28, 2022, an incident occurred where the ball touched the hand of Dede Ayew.

Advertisement

Based on the clarification of handball law at the AGM of IFAB, Ayew’s handball which led to the scoring of goal by Mohammed Salisu was not rejected.

“Goals scored by a player immediately after the ball has touched their hand/arm, even if accidental will be disallowed,” he added.

“So if Ayew had scored that backheel after it touched his hand, the goal wouldn’t have stood. That’s what VAR wanted to confirm, whether Andre had the last touch.”

SOURCE: Coverghana.com.gh

Advertisement
Advertisement

Leave a Reply