List of Winners of Vodafone Ghana Music Awards Artistes of the Year since 1999

Stonebwoy, Kuami Eugene, Diana Hamilton and KiDi
Stonebwoy, Kuami Eugene, Diana Hamilton and KiDi

Since the award’s inception till date, the master brain behind it (Charter House) has organized twenty-three (23) awards nights to celebrate the talents or artistes under a required year under review but twenty-two (22) awards were announced.

From the beginning, the event was called Ghana Music Award. Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA) was established in 1999 by the active works of Charter House. Till date, they (Charter House) are the organizers of the prestigious award scheme.

Ghanaians are great lovers of music, arts, and culture displaying events. Either organized early, mid, or end of the year, week days or weekends, their turn outs are magnificent.

READ MORE: VGMA23: KiDi wins VGMA 2022 Artiste of the Year

From the early days of highlife genre in Ghana till now, many artistes appeared in different styles showcasing their artistry catalog to the world.

A lot of the artistes have captured the hearts of many music lovers both home and outside on international levels.

The VGMA category “Artiste of the Year” is the much anticipated lift that all music lovers wish to know after the night.

Legends came, conquered, made impacts, and had awards as well. Some of the legends are: Kojo Antwi, Daddy Lumba, Lord Kenya, among others that worked tirelessly for the entertainment industry.

READ ALSO: [VGMA23]: Full list of VGMA 2022 Nominees

Find beneath names and years artistes emerged as the winner(s) at the VGMA.

Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA) Artistes of the Year winners

VGMA 1999 winner – Akyeame

VGMA 2000 winner – Daddy Lumba

VGMA 2001 winner – Kojo Antwi

VGMA 2002 winner – Lord Kenya

VGMA 2003 winner – Kontihene

VGMA 2004 winner – VIP

VGMA 2005 winner – Bice Osei Kuffour (Obour)

VGMA 2006 winner – Ofori Amponsah

VGMA 2007 winner – Samini

VGMA 2008 winner – Kwaw Kese

VGMA 2009 winner – Okyeame Kwame

VGMA 2010 winner – Sarkodie

VGMA 2011 winner – V.I.P (2nd time)

VGMA 2012 winner – Sarkodie

VGMA 2013 winner – R2Bees

VGMA 2014 winner – Shatta Wale

VGMA 2015 winner – Stonebwoy

VGMA 2016 winner – E.L

VGMA 2017 winner – Joe Mettle

VGMA 2018 winner – Ebony Reigns

In 2019, a fracas occurred between the two giant Reggae/Dancehall Artistes, Stonebwoy & Shatta Wale so it wasn’t announced.

VGMA 2020 winner – Kuami Eugene

VGMA 2021 winner – Diana Hamilton

VGMA 2022 winner – KiDi



Leave a Reply