New Board Members of the National Seed Council inaugurated

New Board Members of the National Seed Council inaugurated
New Board Members of the National Seed Council inaugurated

The Minister of Food And Agriculture Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto has sworn into office the new Board Members of the National Seed Council.

The nine (9) Member governing Council of National Seed Council was inaugurated on 9th March, 2022 the premises of the Ministry of Food And Agriculture.

According to the Minister, the new board members have a herculean task of ensuring the continuous growth of the seed industry.

He explained that, the government has invested in the production of a significant variety of improved seeds which is of great importance to the field of Agriculture and the Ghanaian economy.

The Governing Board Members of National Teaching Council (NTC)

As such, it is right that these seeds find their way to farmers to increase their productivity. The seed value chain has been supported by the extension services, academic research and improved technology.

The new council is therefore being urged to ensure that there is no break in growth. They are responsible for the management of the seeds in terms of quality, research, production to mention a few.

The President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has confidence in them to do an excellent job as seeds drive the government’s flagship programme, Planting for Food and Jobs (PFJ).

The Chairman of the 9-member board is Josiah Wobil.

Speaker announces members of Parliamentary Service Board; Asiedu Nketiah named

He expressed his gratitude to the President to take advisory charge of the Seed Council of Ghana. As an Agrarian economy, it needs a buoyant and vibrant seed industry hence, the board will oversee and ensure all activities augur well for development. Again, he lauded the Minister’s initiatives and touched on his dedication on ensuring Ghana pays heed to its seed affairs.

He pledged on behalf of his colleagues to be faithful to the laws, protocols and directives guiding the seed sector as well as counting on his support to bring their efforts into fruition.

Other members of the board are:

1. Alhaji Nuhu Salifu Orison (Seed Growers Association of Ghana)

2. Ing. Dr Veronica Boakye Kufour

3. Mr. Seidu Mubarak Abdulai (National Farmers’ Association)

4. Mr. Michael Yao Osae (Biotechnology & Nuclear Agric Research Institute Representative)

5. Samuel Boadu

 6. Prof. Moses Brandford Mochiah (Director-General of CSIR)

7. Dr. Solomon Gyan Ansah (Directorate of Crop Services)

8. Mr. Bentil Quaye (Ag. Director of Plant Protection & Regulatory Services Directorate)

Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto is therefore hopeful that this will be a hands on Board, monitoring and liaising closely with him to drive the seed revolution in Ghana. Fortunately, the rapid development of the seed industry has earned him the honour of “Seed Champion of Africa” by  “AfricaSeeds” under the African Union Seeds Programme.

The Minister for Food and Agriculture said, he will support the Board with his knowledge and technical know-how to move the industry forward.

New Board Members of the National Seed Council inaugurated
New Board Members of the National Seed Council inaugurated



Leave a Reply