NPP MPs arrive as early as 4am in Parliament to occupy Majority side

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) Members of Parliament have arrived as early as 4:00am in the Chamber of Parliament purposely to occupy the Majority side of the House thus; the right side of the Speaker of Parliament Rt. Hon. Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin as the first sitting of the 8th Parliament commences.

The information intercepted by was announced by some of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) Members of Parliament on social media to have arrived in the Chamber as of 4:00am while proceedings officially start at 10:00am.

This development emerges as the New Patriotic Party (NPP) caucus and the National Democratic Congress (NPP) caucus fight over which side becomes Majority and Minority in the 8th Parliament of the fourth (4th) Republic of Ghana.


On the eve of the 7th January, 2021, ahead of the dissolution of the 7th Parliament to pave way for the inauguration of the 8th Parliament, the National Democratic Congress arrived in Parliament as early as possible to occupy the Majority side of the House claiming they have form Majority in the 8th Parliament.

Information available to suggest that, no Member of Parliament for the National Democratic Congress has arrive in the Chamber as at the time.

Reports further indicate that, the House shall determine the Majority and Minority side today as the 8th Parliament officially resumes. This follows disagreement on both caucuses on which side becomes a Majority and Minority in Parliament in three different engagements. It expected that, the Rt. Hon. Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, the Speaker of Parliament will give final determination on the subject matter.


Both parties have equal number of seats in Parliament thus; 137 each with one Independent Member of Parliament for the Fomena Constituency Andrew Asiamah Amoako, who in a letter to the speaker has announced to join the New Patriotic Party in the course of transacting business in Parliament.

The New Patriotic Party and the National Democratic Congress are both challenging some parliamentary seats declared by the Electoral Commission after the December 7, 2020 general elections.

The information available revealed that, the National Democratic Congress (NDC) is challenging results of a sum of eight parliamentary seats including Hohoe, Tema West, Techiman South, Tano South, Zabzugu, Tarkwa Nsuaem, Sefwi Wiawso and Essikado Ketan Constituencies.

While the New Patriotic Party is also contesting the election results of a total of eight (8) different parliamentary seats thus; Savelugu, Kintampo North, Buem, Pusiga, Banda, Jomoro, Assin North and Krachi West Constituencies.

See photos below.



Leave a Reply