Tongu enclaves, Anlo, Keta, Ketu and Akatsi Constituencies jointly petition EC

Members and supporters of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) from the Southern Part of the Volta region have jointly petitioned the Electoral Commission of Ghana for presiding over a fraudulent Electoral processes in the December 2020 general elections.

The members from the eighth Constituencies hence South Tongu, Central Tongu, North Tongu, Akatsi South, Akatsi North, Keta, Ketu and Anlo Constituencies converged at Sogakope in the South Tongu District of the Volta region to protest against what they describe as a stolen verdict in favour of the incumbent government and President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

READ ALSO: Dec. 2020 Polls: Three (3) Tongu constituencies demonstration against ‘stolen verdict’ (+VIDEOS)


The protesters hit the principal streets of Sogakope through to the Sogakope District Hospital areas and ended the demonstration at the four Court of the South Tongu Electoral Commission’s premises.

On December 7th, 2020 Ghanaians went to the polls to exercise their democratic right to elect their Parliamentarians and the President of the Republic of Ghana. This exercise has been largely free, fair and transparent over the previous elections.

READ MORE: NDC supporters perform sacrifices, invoke curses, call on Volta gods to strike EC officials (+PHOTOS)

According to the protesters, as citizens of this country, they strongly believed b ased on evidence available to them that the
conduct of 2020 general elections have been flawed and rigged in favour of the ruling New Patriotic Party ( NPP) with the support of the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission, Mrs. Jean Adukwei Mensa, the entire Commissioners and the Electoral Commission as a whole.


The press statement presented by Mr. Francis Nyamasekpor, the  General Secretary of the NDC, South Tongu Constituency said, they are extremely convinced that H .E John Dramani Mahama, the NDC 2020 Presidential Candidate has won the election. He again said, the NDC has won 140 majority seats in parliament but the NPP is using brute military force to steal 3 seats to enable them get the needed majority in Parliament. The 3 seats in contention as we speak are Techiman South, Tarkwa Nsuaem, and Zabzugu.

READ ALSO: 15 Years On: Historic development between Akufo-Addo and Mahama likely to replicate – Ablakwa

He said, “the errors committed by the Electoral Commission in the conduct of this year’s general election were avoidable, we believe God in his own wisdom, has exposed the partiality of Madam Jean Mensa and the other Commissioners so that the world can see their stock-in- trade.”

The eighth Constituencies jointly served a strong warning to the Electoral Commission to immediately do the needful else faces their wrath.

“Ladies and gentlemen, it is our right as citizens to demonstrate. We shall continue to demonstrate till the right thing is done by the Electoral Commission.” He said.

John-Peter Amewu finally injuncted; Speaker of 8th Parliament falls for NDC

Read below the full petition as presented by Mr. Francis Nyamasekpor.

Watch the video of Mr. Francis Nyamasekpor as he presented the petition on behalf of the group.

See photos from the demonstration below. 



Leave a Reply