Alban S. K Bagbin wins Speakership for the 8th Parliament with 138 votes

Hon Alban S. K Bagbin
Hon Alban S. K Bagbin

The Parliament of Ghana has elected the Second Deputy Speaker of the 7th Parliament Hon Alban S. K Bagbin as the Speaker of Parliament for the 8th Parliament of the 4th Republic of Ghana.

The Parliamentary caucus of National Democratic Congress (NDC) and New Patriotic Party (NPP) presided over by Cyril Kwabena Oteng Nsiah, the Clerk of Parliament took them through processes leading to secret voting to select a Speaker for inauguration of the 8th Parliament.

Majority and Minority leaders hold joint press briefing ahead of dissolution of 7th Parliament


There were series of confusions and disagreement which trancated the voting processes along the line leading to deployment of heavy military personnel to control the choas earlier in Parliament.

The voting processes which lasted for almost 9 hours has ended around 6:30am followed by sorting and counting. Strangely after counting the ballot papers of Prof. Aaron Michael Oquaye, an NPP MP elect for Tema West  Constituency Hon. Carlos Ahenkorah snatched the ballot papers belonging to Hon Alban S. K Bagbin and took to his heel. Fortunately, he was caught by some NDC MPs elect and security personnel where the ballots were taken from them.

When duty calls; Mustapha Ussif recounts memories as NSS Executive Director

At the end of the counting, Hon Alban S. K Bagbin had a total of 138 valid votes while Prof. Aaron Michael Oquaye had a total of 136 valid votes with one (1) rejected ballot paper.

Traffic advisory, security zones, closure and diversion of roads for swearing-in ceremony

With this, Hon Alban S. K Bagbin has been duly elected as the Speaker of the 8th Parliament from 7th January, 2021 to 6th January, 2025.

Congratulations, Rt. Hon. Alban Sumani Kingsford Gbagbin, Speaker of Parliament for the 8th parliment under the 4th Republic.



Leave a Reply