Majority and Minority leaders hold joint press briefing ahead of dissolution of 7th Parliament

Hon. Haruna Iddrisu and Hon. Osei Kyei-Mensah Bonsu
Hon. Haruna Iddrisu and Hon. Osei Kyei-Mensah Bonsu

The Majority and Minority Leaders of the 7th Parliament of the 4th Republic today held a joint press briefing on how the 7th Parliament has performed and to set the tone for the 8th Parliament, with consensus building as the mainstay. Discussions at the briefing varied from the total number of bills passed during the term. The high and low moments of  the 7th Parliament were also discussed.

The 7th Parliament stands dissolved at midnight of Wednesday 6th January 2021 after running its full four-year term in accordance with Article 113(1) of the 1992 Constitution paving the way for the Members-Elect of the 8th Parliament to convene in the Chamber of Parliament to elect a Speaker and Two Deputy Speakers.

[TEXT]: Akufo-Addo’s State of the Nation Address on dissolution of 7th Parliament


In accordance with Articles 95, 96 and 100(2) of the 1992 Constitution the Members-Elect of the 8th Parliament will be sworn in by the Speaker as per Article 100(1) of the 1992 Constitution of the Republic of Ghana.

At least 108 out of the 275 Members of the 7th Parliament will not return to the House in the 8th Parliament either because they lost the primaries in their parties or are retiring or have lost the seat in the December 7 general elections.

Approximately 33 incumbent New Patriotic Party (NPP) MPs lost their seats in the December 7 polls with about twenty one (21) of them being either Ministers, Ministers of State or Deputy Ministers.

My unlearned brain can’t understand the judgment of the Judges – Umaru Sanda

Forty one (41) of them had earlier had earlier lost their primaries last year and thus did not contest in the December polls while four have decided to retire.


At least fifteen of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) MPs lost in the elections aside from the ten (10) MPs who lost their primaries last year in addition to those MPs who are retiring bringing to thirty-two (32) the number of current NDC MPs out of the one hundred and six (106) who are not returning to the august House

Notable Members who will be missing from the 8th Parliament include the longest Nadowli Kaleo serving Member of Parliament Hon. Alban S.K. Bagbin who has served both as the Minority and Majority Leader in the House during his twenty eight years stint with the law-making body.

Security Zones for Inauguration: State House Complex, Int. Conference Centre, Accra Sports Stadium, Black Star Square

However the second return of Cletus Apul Avoka, a former Majority Leader and MP for Zebilla with a vast wealth of parliamentary knowledge as well as returnees Wisdom Gidisu (Krachi East) and Sanja Nanja (Atebubu Amantin) will fill the void created by these experienced legislators.

Traffic advisory, security zones, closure and diversion of roads for swearing-in ceremony

The House will similarly miss the expertise of Constitutional, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Committee Chairman Ben Abdallah Banda (Offinso South), fellow Committee members Joseph Yieleh Chireh-Wa West, and Shaibu Mahama (Daboya-Mankarigu).

Also to conspicuously missing are Finance Committee Chairman Mark Assibey-Yeboah of New Juaben South, former Agriculture Minister Clement Kofi Humado (Anlo), vociferous Fiifi Kwetey of Ketu South and Deputy Defence Minister Derrick Oduro, the MP for Nkoranza North among the many Members of Parliament bidding farewell to the legislative body.

See more photos below.



Leave a Reply