John Baguri wins UMaT SRC Presidency, sets unprecedented records

H.E John Baguri, SRC President of UMaT, 2021/2022
H.E John Baguri, SRC President of UMaT, 2021/2022

Mr. John Baguri, a level 300 student of the University of Mines and Technology in the Mining Engineering Department has been elected as the Students’ Representative Council (SRC) President for 2021/2022 academic year.

The former National Deputy Secretary and National Coordinator of the Teacher Trainees’ Association of Ghana (TTAG) was elected as the SRC President by the entire students of the University during the general elections held by the University’s Electoral Commission on 16th July, 2021.

READ ALSO: Covid-19 Situation Today, A Year On; Let’s not let our guard down – John Baguri


A one time Ghanaian teacher who is embedded with high level of integrity and numerous track records has set unprecedented records in the University of Mines and Technology SRC Presidential race.

The election results declared on Friday, 16th July, 2021 by the Electoral Commissioner Mr. Aboagye Samuel said, John Baguri won the election with 1,177 valid votes representing 56.10% as against his main contender Harry Cobbinah with 921 valid votes representing 43.90%.

READ MORE: Examination malpractices didn’t begin in 2020; Spare me the ‘Sainthood’ the hard truth – John Baguri writes

Mr. John Baguri won the election in all the four year groups, i.e Year 1, 2, 3 & 4 with unprecedented margin of two hundred and six (256) votes, the first in the recent times.

According to our findings, the margins for presidential race for a while now has been less than 50 votes margin in the University.

Felix Donkor to contest for UEW SRC Presidency [+Profile]

It worth announcing that, Mr. John Baguri has recorded the highest mark of 93.70% in the vetting results of the SRC Presidential race issued on Monday, 28th June, 2021 by the Vetting Committee of the Electoral Commission of the University.


Find attached, the outcome of the vetting results as announced, and intercepted by

Profile of Agboni Nicholas Kelvin: SO-GNAT secretary aspirant

The following aspirants were announced duly elected to represent the students front of the University of Mines and Technology for the 2021/2022 academic year.

John Baguri – SRC President

Solomon O. Darko – SRC Vice President

Kojo K. Raymond – SRC Treasurer

Appiah Rita Adwoa – SRC General Secretary

Aryeetey Isaac N. – Local NUGS President

Swanzy Mabel – Local NUGS General Secretary.

Find attached, the results from the Office of the Electoral Commission of the University.

Dr. Adutwum sponsors 30 SHS graduates to study at University of Mines and Technology


In an appreciation message, Team Gye Nyame said, gratitude overflows their hearts for the overwhelming backing that led to the landslide victory of their candidates. Mr. John Baguri popularly called Sir John, the President Elect, and all team Gye Nyame find no word strong enough to make you understand how much your support is valued.

UMaT presents river cleaning technology to Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources

“Just as you have demonstrated such trust and confidence in Sir John, be assured that you will always live to be grateful for your choice. We wish you the very best in your stay” The statement said.



Leave a Reply