NaCCA releases learning areas of the Common Core Programme

Ghanaian students
Ghanaian students

The National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NaCCA) has released a total of twelve (12) learning areas of the Common Core Programme for Basic 7 to Basic 9 students as part of the new curriculum.

The National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NaCCA) working in Collaboration with the Ministry of Education has successfully completed the development of the second phase of the Pre-tertiary curriculum Common Core Programme (CCP) Curriculum for Basic 7 to Basic 9 (B7–B9).

According to NaCCA, the new curriculum has been handed over to the Ghana Education Service (GES) for implementation in 2021/2022 academic year.


READ MORE ON NaCCA: NaCCA classifies Formal Basic Education System into five key phases

NaCCA, which is mandated to manage the process of assessment and approval of textbooks and other educational materials for use in all pre-tertiary schools, has earlier requests all Publishers and educational material developers to submit their materials based on the new curriculum for assessment.

NaCCA states that, the assessment and approval system will be an on-going process. Publishers and educational materials developers are entreated to submit their books, whenever they are completed, for assessment. Copies of the curriculum can be obtained from the NaCCA Head Office, South Ridge Road, Accra.

The learning areas of the Common Core Programme for Basic 7 to 9 are outlined below:

  1. Arabic Language
  2. Career Technology
  3. Computing
  4. Creative Arts and Design
  5. English Language
  6. French Language
  7. Ghanaian Languages
  8. Mathematics
  9. Physical and Health Education
  10. Religious and Moral Education
  11. Science
  12. Social Studies

READ ALSO: NaCCA announces list of unapproved textbooks – Check full list

Leaners Books and Facilitators Guides for each grade of the learning area.

Each learning area represents a separate assessment package. Publishers may submit one or more packages for assessment. A package will comprise three learner’s books for each grade with their accompanying three facilitator’s guides. However, per-grade single packages comprising a Learners Book and Facilitators Guide of a particular grade may be submitted for assessment. Ghanaian Languages represents all the twelve written languages; publishers may submit for one or more languages as applicable.


Only learners books and facilitators guides which have been assessed and listed on the approved titles database of NaCCA will be eligible for use in Ghanaian schools.

Suitably qualified school textbook publishers, registered in Ghana, are now invited to download the Submission Guidelines from the NaCCA website ( They are also invited to submit suitable textbooks to NaCCA in accordance with the requirements established in the Submission Guidelines.

All submissions should be accompanied by a submission fee as specified in Appendix 6. Publishers must ensure that they receive an official receipt for all payments made. Submission fees paid are not refundable.

Teacher Unions secure court injunction over one teacher one laptop project

Publishers submissions for this Common Core Programme must be made in the form and in the number of copies prescribed in the Common Core Programme Submission Guidelines, to the NaCCA Head Office, South Ridge Road, Accra. NaCCA will maintain a register of all submissions received from all submitting publishers.

By submitting textbooks to NaCCA for assessment and approval, the publisher explicitly accepts the terms and conditions specified and defined in the Submission Guidelines.

The Submission Procedures for Textbook Assessment and Approval for the Common Core Programme comprise the following documents, which are available at



Leave a Reply