Alban K.S Bagbin elected Speaker of the 8th Parliament

Hon. Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin
Hon. Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin

Former National Democratic Congress (NDC) Member of Parliament for Nadowli Kaleo, Hon. Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin who voluntary retired from Parliament and did not contest in the 2020 parliamentary elections retuned to Parliament, this time not as a lawmaker but the elected Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic.

The longest serving MP won a chaotic, closely contested secret ballot in the Chamber of Parliament on Thursday against his predecessor, former Speaker Prof Aaron Mike Oquaye by polling 138 votes against the University Professor who garnered 136 while one Member-Elect failed to vote.

Andrew Asiamah Amoako appointed 2nd Deputy Speaker of the 8th Parliament


The former Nadowli Kaleo lawmaker who served both as the Minority Leader and the Majority Leader during his twenty eight years stint with the law-making body thus made history for being the first Speaker of Parliament who was not selected by the governing party.

The process leading to his election as the Speaker has been characterized by complete pandemonium as some MPs put up unparliamentarily behaviour with the most noticeable being Carlos Kingsley Ahenkorah, who in the full glare of his colleagues and the media, snatched ballot sheets and bolted.

Joseph Osei-Owusu elected as 1st Deputy Speaker of the 8th Parliament

The Tema West Member of Parliament was given a hot chase by some security officers and colleague lawmakers, including Asawase MP Muntaka Mubarak Mohammed, who after getting hold of him hit him severally.

The election process lasted over nine hours and delayed the swearing-in of MPs-elect and the selection process of a Speaker for the 8th Parliament but eventually four hours after the secret ballot amidst a lot of jostling, Hon. Bagbin was declared winner and was sworn in by the Chief Justice, Kwesi Anin-Yeboah.

Majority and Minority leaders hold joint press briefing ahead of dissolution of 7th Parliament


The early hours of the 8th Parliament had surely been very eventful starting from the confusion caused by NDC MPs when they occupied the Majority side of Parliament, to arguments about the eligibility of the Assin North MP-elect James Gyakye Quayson and finally, confusion about the mode of voting.

A motion had been moved as regard the dissolution of the 7th Parliament which occurred at midnight for the commencement of processes to elect the Speaker but the NPP members argued that there had been a court injunction barring James Gyakye Quayson from holding himself out as a MP-elect and subjecting himself to be sworn-in as the MP for Assin North Constituency.

My unlearned brain can’t understand the judgment of the Judges – Umaru Sanda

The NDC however argued that Mr. Quayson was yet to be served the writ of injunction and after more than an hour of debate, the Clerk of Parliament Cyril Kwabena Oteng Nsiah, indicated that he will not recognise him in the election of Speaker which decision did not go down well with the NDC MPs who then accused him of being bias and ensured that the MP-elect eventually voted.

Pandemonium broke down between members of the two major political parties, the secret vote came off but Tema West MP-elect, Carlos Ahenkorah snatched ballots as they were being counted throwing the House into another chaos.

The NPP Members of Parliament-elect initially suggested that there should be a second round of voting due to the incident but after a lot of deliberations with the leadership of the two parties, they agreed that the results be accepted.



Leave a Reply