GRA announces entities responsible for charging E-Levy

Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA)
Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA)

The effective implementation of the Electronic Transfer Levy (E-levy) will start on 1st May, 2022 by the Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA).

According to the GRA, the Bill which was approved by Parliament of Ghana on Tuesday, 29th March, 2022 was adopted at a reduced rate of 1.5% from the initial 1.7% amid the Minority walkout.

For smooth and effective implementation of the Act, the Ghana Revenue Authority has announced to the general public, entities responsible for charging the E-Levy.


READ ALSO: GRA announces transfers that are excluded from E-Levy charges

Who is responsible for charging the E-Levy?

The entities responsible for charging the Levy as announced by GRA are;

1. Electronic Money Issuers (EMIs) such as MTN Momo, Vodafone Cash, AirtelTigo Money, Zeepay, GCB G-Money and Yup Ghana.

2. Payment Service Providers (PSPs). They include eTranzact, Cellutant, Nsano etc.

3. Banks.

4. Specialised Deposit-taking Institutions (SDIs) such as rural and community banks and savings and loans companies, finance houses etc.

5. Other Financial Institutions prescribed by Regulations.

READ MORE: How to send MoMo without paying E-levy charges

When will the Levy be charged?

The Levy will be charged whenever a person makes a transfer. The charging entity will add the Levy to the transfer amount and charge the person’s wallet or Bank account.

Who will be collecting the E-Levy?

The Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA) will collect and account for the Levy.

DOWNLOAD THE E-LEVY ACT HERE: Electronic Transfer Levy Act, 2022 assented and gazetted – Download

Read from the documents below, full presentation on the E-levy implementation.



Leave a Reply