Senegal to have six new Stadiums in celebration of AFCON2021 Victory

Senegal is set to built six new stadiums to celebrate it’s victory and success at the just ended 2021 African Cup of Nations (AFCON).

Senegal was crowned Africans Number One at the just ended AFCON, after it thrashed the Egyptians on penalty shootouts to lift the trophy.

According to the information, six new stadiums, would be built in partnership with French side Metz and Generation Foot to honour them.


Facts about Senegal’s 50,000 capacity Diamniadio Olympic Stadium

The six stadiums will bear the names of the Senegalese players who won the AFCON in Cameroon that were trained at Generation Foot and at FC Metz.

The players are;

1. Pape Matar Sarr

2  Kalidou Koulibaly

3. Habib Diallo

4. Ismaila Sarr

5. Bouna Sarr and

6. Sadio Mane will have stadiums named after them.

AFCON2021: Starting 11 of Teranga Lions of Senegal and their International Clubs

The 2021 AFCON saw Senegal winning its first ever African Cup of Nations after two successive appearances at the finals.



Leave a Reply