20 Minority MPs charged over a march to EC’s Headquarters to present a petition

NDC Minority MPs

NDC Minority MPs

Share This Information


Some National Democratic Congress Minority Members of Parliament has been changed over a march to the Electoral Commission’s Headquarters without following proper procedures.

In a statement issued by Coverghana.com.gh, a total of twenty (20) National Democratic Congress’s Members of Parliament were charged for failing to notify the Ghana Police of holding a special event contrary to section 1(1) and (2) and 9(a) of the Public Order Act, 1984 (ACT 491).

John Mahama Speaks on Tuesday’s Stand off between minority MPs and Police

The Minority Members of Parliament on 22nd December 2020 has embarked on what they described as a peaceful march from the Parliament House to the Electoral Commission’s Headquarters in Accra to present a petition to the Chairperson of the Commission challenging the Techiman South Constituency Parliamentary election results and have same requested for re-collation.

The Minority Members in Parliament lead by its spokesperson Haruna Iddrisu have defiled the Ghana Police Service orders on their way to the Headquarters of the Electoral Commission of Ghana.

This led to a scuffle between Minority MPs marching to present a petition to the Electoral Commission of Ghana and the police as they defy blockade mounted by the Police.

Scuffle breaks between Minority MPs and Ghana Police Service

According to the Court statement, the action of the Minority Members of Parliament at Ridge (Electoral Commission office) in the Greater Accra Circuit and within the jurisdiction of the Court contravene the laws of the country and have been charged.

According to the Court statement, the Deputy General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress Peter Boamah Otukonor, aside the twenty (20) MPs has also been charged for embarking on similarly action which merit same offence.

John Mahama’s petition vindicates me – Joynews journalist reveals; Says truth prevails

The Court statement of offence indicated that, the Minority Members of Parliament and the Deputy General Secretary of NDC have assembled themselves unlawfully, acted and or conducted themselves in “in a manner likely to cause persons in the Neighbourhood reasonable fear where a breach of the peace is likely to be occasioned.”

Below is the list of the individuals MPs charged.

Affidavit in opposition to AG’s motion to invoke the supervisory jurisdiction of Supreme Court

1. Haruna Iddrisu

2. Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka

3. Samuel George

4. John Abdulai Jinapor

5. Rockson Defiamekpor,

6. Ras Mubarak

7. Mutawakilu Adam

8. Ebenezer Okletey Terlabi

9. Dr. Kwabena Donkor

10. A.B. Fuseini

11. Kwabena Minta Akando

12. Yusif Issaka Jaja,l

13. Isaac Adongo

14.  Emmanuel Armah Kofi Buah

15.  James Klutse Avedzi

16. James Agalga

17. Collins Dauda

18. Abdul Rashi Pelpuo

19. Richard Quashigah

20. Zanetor Agyemang-Rawlings.

Gabby Asare Otchere-Darko reveals top and shocking prophecies for 2021

Announcing the news, the Member for Kumbungu Constituency Ras Mubarak sadly said, Is the police this bored and idle? According to him, this is nothing but a disgraceful harassment of opposition figures.

Watch the video below.

SOURCE: Coverghana.com.gh


Share This Information

Leave a Reply